Preliminary Program

Sept.  6 (Sun) :  Registration.

 Welcome party in the evening.

 Sept.  7 (Mon): Opening ceremony.

 Oral sessions of invited general and topical lectures.

 Sept.  8 (Tue): Oral sessions of invited general and topical lectures.

 Poster Session.

 Sept.  9 (Wed): Excursion. 

                          Oral sessions of invited general and topical lectures.

 Sept. 10 (Thu): Oral sessions of invited general and topical lectures.

                           Conference Banquet.

 Sept. 11 (Fri) : Oral sessions of invited general and topical lectures.

  Closing ceremony.

Header  Home


MD9 Timetable Download

MD9 Program Download

MD9 Book of Abstracts Download

Header  Home

Invited Lectures

Preliminary list of General Lectures:

Peter Awakowicz Ruhr-Universität,
Bochum, Germany
Annemie Bogaerts University of Antwerp,
Francisco M. Dias Instituto Superior Técnico,
Lisboa, Portugal
Marco A. Gigosos Universidad de Valladolid,
Igor A. Kossyi Institute of General Physics R. A. S.,
Moscow, Russia
M. Carmen López-Santos Institute of Materials Science C.S.I.C.,
Seville, Spain
Michel Moisan Université de Montreal,
Joost van der Mullen Université Libre de Bruxelles,
Vadim A. Skalyga Institute of Applied Physics R. A. S.,
N. Novgorod, Russia
Elena Tatarova Instituto Superior Técnico,
Lisboa, Portugal
Lenka ZajickovaMasaryk University,
Brno, Czech Republic

Tribute to the Memory of Prof. Zenon Zakrzewski

Due to his recent death, the International Scientific Committee feels that tribute should be paid to Professor Zakrzewski for his exceptional contribution, both theoretical and experimental, to RF and Microwave sustained plasmas.

During the workshop a General Lecture will be dedicated to Professor Zakrzewski and his heritage. This presentation will be made by Professor Michel Moisan, who has been closely collaborating with Prof. Zakrzewski on a period of almost 25 years.

Tribute to the Memory of Prof. Carlos Matos Ferreira

Recently Prof. Carlos Matos Ferreira, Honorary Member of the International Scientific Committee and founder of the International Workshop on Microwave Discharges: Fundamentals and Applications, died unexpectedly. Due to so unhappy news the ISC wants to dedicate a tribute to his memory and his valuable commitment to our microwave discharges community.

Prof. Francisco M. Dias, coworker for many years in the Instituto Superior Técnico de Lisboa, will dedicate to Prof. Ferreira and his contribution to Microwave Discharges a Lecture during the workshop.

Header  Home


During the Workshop the 2015 MD Student Prize - EPS Poster Prize will be chosen. The International Scientific Committee (ISC) will select the best work presented by PhD students, according to the quality of the scientific content and presentation, irrespective of the topic or whether it is predominantly experimental, computational or theoretical. Eligible students should not be defending their PhD thesis before January 2015. The Award consists of the cost of the registration fee in the Workshop and a certificate.

Candidates submitting abstract through e-mail must also send details about their PhD thesis director (name, institution, e-mail).

Header  Home